Reading roundup – July 25th 2014

Posted: July 25, 2014 in Reading Roundup
Tags: ,

This week I have been continuing to work my way through Robin Hobb’s Realm of the Elderlings series.  I am just over a third of the way through Assassin’s Quest, the third book in the Farseer Trilogy.  I hope to follow that with Ship of Destiny, the final book in the Liveship Traders trilogy before starting on the three books of The Tawny Man trilogy.  My aim is to have these all completed by August 12th when Fool’s Assassin is released – or at least by the following Friday when I leave for vacation.  Fool’s Assassin is the latest book in Fitz’s story after a publication gap of 13 years.  I really can’t wait to see what Hobb has in store next!

To read all that in that period of time is a tiny bit of a challenge – they are huge tomes – but I’m aiming for it.  I have the Farseer trilogy and Liveship Traders in audiobook format as well, and I see the Tawny Man trilogy is making its way to Audible this month too, so that will help.   I find mixing listening with reading is an excellent way to enjoy books.  I have read all three trilogies before, but I’ve not started the Rainwild Chronicles yet.  I leave for a trip on August 16th which involves a VERY long coach trip – eighteen hours, save me – so hopefully Fitz can keep me company.  

In between following the tale of Fitz and Nighteyes, I have been listening to Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, which I hope to discuss with my friend Natasha this weekend.  Much as I have been enjoying the book, I’ve rather resented the time it’s taken me away from Fitz and Co!  Hobb’s characters and worldbuilding are just so absorbing I don’t want to leave.  

Added to my library this week

Dissonance by Erica O’Rourke.  The concept for this book sounded fascinating:  Delancey knows for sure that there is more than one universe. Many more. Because every time someone makes a choice, a new, parallel world is spun off the existing one. Eating breakfast or skipping it, turning left instead of right, sneaking out instead of staying in bed—all of these choices create alternate universes in which echo selves take the roads not traveled. Del knows all of this because she’s a Walker, someone who can navigate between the worlds, and whose job is to keep the dimensions in harmony.   I’m not certain when I’ll get round to reading this, but it did sound good.  I picked Dissonance up in Kindle format.

Next up was The Iron King by Julie Kagawa.  I’d borrowed this series of books about the fae from my local library and loved the worldbuilding.  I decided it was time to add them to my own Kindle and Audible libraries.  I will probably add the rest as and when.

As I mentioned, The Tawny Man trilogy is coming to Audible.  This week I picked up Fool’s Errand.  Brilliance Audio’s website suggests Golden Fool will follow on July 29th so I will be keeping an eye out for that.

Original Sin: Thor and Loki.  Now, I normally do not read comic books, but I was really intrigued by Marvel’s announcement that from October Thor will be a woman.  I wanted to follow the story.  I must say comics are not my own favourite format – I prefer words to pictures – but it is intriguing.

Upcoming Releases

August sees the publication of two of my three most anticipated releases of the summer – the aforementioned Fool’s Assassin on August 12th – preorders are already in for both Kindle and Audible formats.  

The second is the third book in Brent Weeks’ Lightbringer series.  I loved the first two – especially in audiobook format.  It was actually Simon Vance’s superb narration of Weeks’ fantastic story that got me into audiobooks in a big way.  For various reasons it’s been nearly two years since we had an update on Kip and Gavin Guile and we’ve been dangling on the edge of a cliff since then – I’m kinda ready to get off.   

For the curious among you, my third most anticipated upcoming release is, of course, Rick Riordan’s The Blood of Olympus.

That’s all folks.  Have a good weekend.

    Leave a Reply

    