Dipping my toes back into Android

Posted: July 20, 2012 in Tech Reviews
Tags: , , , ,

Those of you who have read my blog know that I am an Apple fangirl, and that I had been very disappointed in my brieftime with the Kobo Vox ereading tablet. That had been my first experience with Android, and although I was very disappointed in the Kobo Vox, I realised that was due to the tablet itself not the operating system.

I really liked the 7 inch size of the Kobo Vox, and I had been considering a more general Android 7 inch tablet. I had been seriously considering the Galaxy 2 tablet, but then I heard about the new Nexus 7 and was blown away by the presentation and reviews.

Just looking at the specs of the Kobo compared to the Nexus I can tell already my experience is going to be completely different:

Kobo Vox:

Operating system custom Android 2.3
CPU 800 Mhz
Storage capacity 8 GB
Memory 512 MB RAM
Display 7″ multi-touch FFS+ multimedia display; 1024 x 600 resolution

Nexus 7:

Operating system Android 4.1 Jelly Bean
SoC Nvidia Tegra 3 (T30L)
CPU 1.2 GHz quad-core ARM Cortex-A9 with additional low-speed companion core,[1]
GPU 416 MHz Nvidia GeForce ULP with 12 cores
Memory 1 GB DDR3 RAM
Storage 8 or 16 GB flash memory

For only $40 more, the difference is incredible. My biggest gripe about the Vox other than the poor performance was the limited access to apps (since my review the Vox has been opened up to the Android Marketplace.) As the Nexus is from Google itself, it is “pure” Android 4.1 Jelly Bean and has full access to the Google Play store. Although I don’t yet have the device, I have checked on Google Play and all the major apps I use on a daily basis on my iPhone/iPad are there: Kobo, Kindle, GoodReads, Overdrive.

I was also blown away by Google Now. I don’t have access to Apple’s Siri yet (she will come to my iPad in the autumn with the iOS 6 update) so I am looking forward to checking it out.

Now, for the downside: I placed my order with the Google Play Store on Wednesday and as of yet, it still has not shipped. I really can’t wait to get it in my hands. I will keep you updated.

Leave a Reply

